Ubuntu Server with GUI

Lovely post about Ubuntu LXDE

duraTurk

I am sure you already know the security and performance concerns about having a GUI for your Ubuntu server; for any Linux server actually. You are strongly recommended against it. If this is the first time you hear about this, then it is time for you to start googling and do some reading to learn why and how serious the recommendation is.

But you might have your own reasons for needing a GUI for your server (valid or not). After working with Windows for more than a decade, both on the server and the client side (and I am still a windows guy on the client side), I was having hard times to manage a Ubuntu server through a command line when I first started. I just went ahead and installed a GUI on my server, even worse it was a production server. I don’t do that anymore, unless it…

View original post 1,129 more words

Leave a Reply

